Govind Ballabh Pant Institute of Engineering & Technology, Pauri (Uttarakhand)

No.

Date: 16 Dec., 2019

Minutes of $_8^{ ext{th}}$ Meeting of Governing Council held on 16 Sept., 2019, 3 PM at IRDT, Survey Chowk, Dehradun

The following members are present:

- 1. Shri Om Prakash, IAS, Additional Chief Secretary, Dept. of Technical Education,
 Government of Uttarakhand, Dehradun

 Vice Chairman
- 2. Sri Hari Singh, Director, Technical Education, Government of Uttarakhand, Member
- Prof. N. S. Chaudhari, Vice Chancellor, Uttarakhand Technical University,
 Dehradun.
 Prof. S. P. Singh, IIT, Roorkee
 Member
- Prof. S. P. Singh, IIT, Roorkee
 Shri Pankaj Gupta, President, Industries Association of Uttarakhand, Dehradun Member
- Prof. Ashutosh Gupta, Professor and Head,
 Department of Mechanical Engineering, GBPIET, Pauri
 Member
- Dr. Yatindra Kumar, Associate Professor
 Department of Electrical Engineering, GBPIET, Pauri
 Prof. M. K. Panda, SPA, SPIU, Uttarakhand
 Invitee Member
- 9.. Prof. M.P.S. Chauhan, Director,
 G.B. Pant Institute of Engineering & Technology, Pauri Member-Secretary

The following members were not present in the meeting:

Prof. B.S Bisht, Former Vice-Chancellor, GBPUAT Pantnagar Chairman
 Prof. M. P. Singh, Retd. Prof. and Ex-Dean, GBPUAT, Pantnagar, Member
 Prof. A. Ahuja, Retd. Prof., I.I.T. Roorkee Member
 Prof. Pratosh Bansal, UGC Nominee Member

8.01 Opening Remarks by Honourable Vice-Chairman

The Vice-Chairman greeted the honourable members during his opening remarks and he requested the member secretary to start the proceedings.

8.02. Presentaion by Director of Institute

The Member Secretary extended warm welcome to the Vice-Chairman and all the Hon'ble Members to the 8th meeting of Governing Council. He stated that the G. C. meeting has been playing a vital role in the speedy development of Institution in

mps chauhan

terms of academic and infrastructure under TEQIP-III project. The Member Secretary on permission of G.C reported the following.

Member secretary as a Director of Institute highlights achievements of the Institution during last one year.

- (i) UGC-Academic autonomy is granted to the institution for the period of five years i.e. 2018-19 to 2023-24.
- (ii) Two new M. Tech Programs are introduced in Institute one in Civil Engineering Department with specialization of Infrastructural Engg. and other in Electrical Engineering Department with the specialization of Power Systems. The intake sanctioned to each branch is 18.
- (iii) After proper approval of concerned authority, the institute started the admission to Bio-Tech (BT) UG program through both stream i.e. mathematics and biology from this year onwards. The appreciable result is observed in terms of intake. The intake is now increased to 47 out of 50.
- (iv) Member secretary pleased to inform the council that the performance audit score is 1.18 and Twinning Score is 1.0 as per the performance auditor report which is best in Uttarakhand among all the institutions.
- (v) Member secretary also delighted to inform the council that almost all seats are filled in all the branches.
- (vi) The interview was successfully conducted for the vacant position of regular faculty. The faculties have joined the institution.

8.03. Confirmation of minutes of 7th Governing Council

The minutes of 7^{th} Governing Council (G. C) was circulated to all Honourable members through email and therefore minutes of 7^{th} G. C may be taken as

8.04. Action Taken Report (ATR)

The action taken report on .the 7th Governing Council is well placed before the council. The council expressed the satisfaction.

8.05. Approval of Procurement Plan of the Institute

The council appreciated the formation of specification committee members belonging to different state. The council asked the member secretary vetting the specification first by external specification committee and then other higher committee for the approval.

Procurement of proposed procurement plan i.e. work-station, automatic weather station and GNSS can only be initiated after vetting and approval.

8.06. Approval of various academic activities

MPS Chauhan

2

The member secretary informed the council about the various academic activities completed by the Institute. The G.C. expressed satisfaction and ratify the same.

8.07. Approval of remuneration of external specification committee members

The council understood the importance of external specification committee members and other higher committee members and therefore approved the remuneration of Rs.5000/- (five thousand) each member.

8.08. Approval for transforming this institute (GBPIET) into a Centrally Funded Technical Institute (CFTI).

The member secretary informed the council that the institute has sufficient infrastructure and land to be converted into CFTI. This would be a matter of pride for the state to have centrally funded technical institute with same existing name "Govind Ballabh Pant Institute of Engineering and Technology, Pauri-Garhwal will then be dilated across country". As of now there is no CFTI in the state. Member secretary requested the council to allow the institute to submit the proposal to MHRD, Govt. of India through State Govt.

The Honourable members discussed the importance of CFTI in detail. The council allows the institute to submit the proposal to the MHRD, Govt. of India through the Govt. of Uttarakhand.

8.09. Approval for the increment of TEQIP Staff

Member secretary requested the council to hike the salary of TEQIP staff by 10% of their consolidated pay.

The council suggested submitting the proposal to the Dept. of Finance, Govt. of Uttarakhand quoting the example of KEC, Dwarahat for the assessment.

8.10. Any other items by the permission of Vice-Chairman

Member secretary requested the council for the replacement of G. C members who is having difficulty to turn up in the meeting like Retd. Prof. Ashok Ahuja, Prof. Pratosh Bansal, UGC Nominee, etc. The council suggested the reformation of G.C provided guidelines or policy documents related to it should be submitted to the Govt. for the reference.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Vice-Chairman and honourable members.

Prof. M. P. S Chauhan (Member Secretary)

Sri Om Prakash (Vice-Chairman)